web analytics
Home / How-to Guides / How to Make your Folders Private for Sharing in Windows

How to Make your Folders Private for Sharing in Windows

There is always a risk of files getting shared among other users in Windows OS especially on Windows XP. If the folder is enabled for sharing, then remote computers can easily access the files. There are folders in Windows, which are already enabled for sharing by default, we recommend making those folders private.

Note:

  • Folders in your user profile include My Documents, and its sub folders, Desktop, Start Menu, Cookies, and Favorites are enabled to share by default. If you don’t make these folders private, they are available to every computer on the network connected to it (Remote Computers).
  • When you make a folder private, all of its sub-folders are private as well. For example, when you make My Documents private, you also make My Music and My Pictures private too. When you share a folder, you also share all of its sub-folders unless you make them private.
  • You cannot make your folders private if your drive is not formatted as NTFS. For information about converting your drive to NTFS Check here. folder-private-sharing4

Steps to make folder Private for sharing in Windows

For Windows XP:

1. Open Run Dialog box, press Windows key + R.

2. Type the below command at Run Dialog box and Press Enter.

%systemdrive%

3. Navigate to “Documents and Settings” folder, you should see your user folder. Right-click on your folder and select “Properties”.

4. Navigate to Sharing tab, add check mark on “Make this folder private” checkbox. Once checkbox is enabled, this will stop the file from sharing on the network. Click on Apply and press OK.

For Windows Vista, Windows 7 and Windows 8:

1. Open Run Dialog box, press Windows key + R.

2. Type the below command at Run Dialog box and Press Enter.

%systemdrive%

3. Navigate to “Users” Folder, you should see your user folder. Right-click on your folder and select “Properties”.

4. Navigate to Sharing tab, click on Advanced Sharing button and remove checkmark from “Share this folder” checkbox. and Click on OK.

5. You should be able to see the status as “Not Shared”, Click on Close.

Your user folder is now safe and private and won’t be shared on the network. Follow the same step to share and unshare files and folders on the network

About Kroshan

Roshan Karkera a.k.a. k.roshan. Blogger by passion and software engineer by profession. He believes in sharing knowledge, which made him to start his own blog. He is very much keen & passionate about new technology & Science. If you'd like to connect with him, follow at Google plus or Twitter.
  • Samurr

    Interestinghtr post
    .

  • Flare

    I made it private now.i never known this !
    thanks

  • Ppl like you get all the brains. I just get to say thanks for he aswner.

  • I like this site very much so much excellent info .