web analytics
Home / Google / How to Block Someone on Google+

How to Block Someone on Google+

How to Block Someone on Google+ Recently, independent social media research company Global Web Index released its findings of active social platform usage as of the end of 2012. It showed Google+ as the second most active social media platform, with 343 million users globally. That’s close to a quarter of the Internet users in the entire world. With that many users hanging around the platform, it makes sense that you wouldn’t necessarily get along with one or two of them.

Fortunately, Google+ has thought of that. It allows you to block users you don’t want to ever hear from again. Blocking prevents your posts, comments, or tags from being seen by that person. Even if you are posting publicly, if the blocked person is signed into Google on any platform, they can’t see your stuff.

It isn’t perfect, though. If the person you’ve blocked is not signed in, they can still see your public information, including updates and images you’ve posted publicly. It also doesn’t work if that person creates a new Google profile or signs into someone else’s.

Mute Vs Report Vs Block

Before you block someone on Google+, make sure it’s actually what you want. There are actually three levels for dealing with unwanted attention on Google+. The least punitive one is to mute someone. Muting someone is just blocking notifications from that person. It’s for people that may comment on your wall or tag you in pictures a little too much. When you log on, you can still see their updates and posts.

The harshest of these three options is to report someone. Reporting a person tells Google+ that you believe he is violating the site’s terms of service. This for people who may be harassing you, using hate speech, or using the site to spam others. Google+ investigates these reports and shuts down profiles that they find in violation.

Now if you’re sure muting the person won’t help, and you don’t think they have violated the terms of Google+’s service agreement, then blocking is the way to go.

How to Do It

Step 1: Open your Google+ account by clicking here.

Step 2: Locate the person you want to block. (Just search for them in the omnibox at the top of the Google+ page. Or click their name on a comment they’ve made.)

Step 3: Now that you have their profile pulled up, scroll about midway down past the information about who the person has in their circles and who has them in theirs. Click “Report/block [person’s name].”

Step 4: Check the box at the top of the popup screen next to “Block [Person’s Name].” At this point, if you need to report the person for violating the terms of agreement on Google+, you can select one of the reasons below.

Step 5: Click “Done.”

 

Unblocking

Unblocking someone is possible, too. So if you change your mind about never wanting to hear from this person again on Google+, here’s what you do:

Step 1: Log into your Google account and go over to your Google+ page.

Step 2: Click “Circles” on the toolbar that goes along the left side of the screen.

Step 3: Click “Actions” on the right top side of the screen and click “View Blocked” in the drop down menu.

Step 4: Find the person you want to reconnect with and click “Unblock” next to their name. Click “Done.”

Author Bio: Jason Thomas is author and Brand Manager for UglyCable, Australia’s leading source for HDMI cables.

About Kroshan

Roshan Karkera a.k.a. k.roshan. Blogger by passion and software engineer by profession. He believes in sharing knowledge, which made him to start his own blog. He is very much keen & passionate about new technology & Science. If you'd like to connect with him, follow at Google plus or Twitter.